HISTORY

 

The peculiarities of a migration Proal family from Upper Barcelonnette (probably from the hamlet of Saint-Flavy) descendants from Joseph Joaquim (1838-1919), a mountain farmer, who, like many compatriots, left his home valley to search a better life. The preferred destination of the French in America in the mid nineteenth century was Louisiana, [1] former colony sold to the United States in 1803, but was still a French-speaking region, where the harbor of New Orleans, hub of “commercial Atlantic”, opens towards Cuba, the Caribbean and Mexico. Joseph and his wife, Clémentine Froissier, remain some time in Algiers, the large port region where their son, Frédéric, was born in 1864. Life was not easy in this cosmopolitan hive and especially the plantation economy, which was supporter of slavery, responded badly to the habits of a mountain dweller from the Lower Alps.

 

 

Read More

 

 

 

 

FOUNDATION

 

Located in San Rafael in the State of Veracruz, Mexico, Casa Proal is an old house, recently renovated, which was built at the end of the 19th century by French settlers from Haute-Saone. Surrounded by lush vegetation, this is a nice and comfortable house with red tiled roofs as we can still find in Burgundy, France.

 

 

Read More

 

 

 

ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE PROGRAM

 

 

 

Located in San Rafael in the State of Veracruz, Mexico, Casa Proal is an old house, recently renovated, which was built at the end of the 19th century by French settlers from Haute-Saone. Surrounded by lush vegetation, this is a nice and comfortable house with red tiled roofs as we can still find in Burgundy, France.
The founder of the Casa Proal is one of the descendants of the French settlers who spread their agricultural work in banana production and cattle breeding.
Casa Proal is a place for residents which takes this heritage as a base. Its main objective is to provide an opportunity for artists from Francophone countries who work with various mediums, painting, photography, video, sound, writing, sculpture, etc. to implement, during four months, a project on site dedicated to nature and art.
Around plural disciplinary artistic practices, the Casa Proal Artist-in-Residence program wishes the creation of inedited works with a singular and sensitive look at the place, its history and natural environment, offering a new reading of the landscape of this region of Mexico to the residents and the visitors.

Residents

 

 

No more items
 

 

 

LOCATION

 


 

 

CONTACT

+52 (232) 325 06 67

San Rafael, Veracruz, México.

HISTORIQUE

Petite histoire de l’implantation de la famille PROAL à Jicaltepec (région de Véra Cruz/Mexique)

Proalhistoria
 
Particularités d’une migrationLa famille Proal, originaire des hauts de Barcelonnette (probablement le hameau de Saint-Flavy) descend de Joseph Joaquim (1838-1919), agriculteur de montagne qui, comme beaucoup de compatriotes, quitte sa vallée natale pour chercher une vie meilleure. La destination privilégiée des Français vers les Amériques, au milieu du XIXe siècle, est la Louisiane, ancienne colonie vendue aux EU en 1803 mais encore francophone, dont le port de la Nouvelle Orléans, plaque tournante de « l’Atlantique commercial », s’ouvre vers Cuba, la Caraïbe, le Mexique. Joseph et sa femme, Clémentine Froissier, demeurent quelque temps à Algiers, quartier du grand port où leur naît un fils, Frédéric, en 1864. La vie n’était pas simple dans cette ruche cosmopolite et surtout, l’économie de plantation, esclavagiste, répondait mal aux habitudes d’un montagnard des Basses-Alpes.

 

En savoir plus

FONDATION

Texte de présentation de la Fondation Casa Proal

0K7A4375_result

Située à San Rafaël dans la province de Vera Cruz au Mexique, la Fondation Casa Proal développe ses activités depuis juillet 2015 à partir d’une maison de maître récemment rénovée, et entourée d’une végétation luxuriante, qui fut construite à la moitié du 19 ième siècle par des colons français originaires de la région de Haute Saône.

 

En savoir plus

RÉSIDENCE D'ARTISTES

Située à San Rafaël dans la province de Veracruz au Mexique, la Casa Proal est une ancienne bâtisse, récemment rénovée, qui fut construite à la moitié du 19 ième siècle par des colons français originaires de la Côte d’or. Entourée d’une végétation luxuriante, c’est une maison agréable et confortable aux toits de tuiles rouges comme on peut en trouver encore de nos jours en Bourgogne.
Le fondateur de la résidence d’artiste Casa Proal est l’un des descendants de ces colons français qui étendirent leurs travaux agricoles à la production de bananes et à l’élevage de bétail.
Casa Proal est un lieu de résidences d’artistes qui s’ancre sur ce patrimoine et qui a pour principal objectif de donner la possibilité à des artistes plasticiens issus de pays francophones de mettre en
œuvre un projet in-situ durant une période de quatre mois autour de pratiques artistiques mêlant « Art et nature »

Autour de pratiques artistiques pluridisciplinaires, le programme de résidences d’artistes Casa Proal souhaite mettre en place les conditions d’émergence favorables à la création d’oeuvres portant un
regard singulier et sensible sur le lieu, son histoire et son environnement naturel. Les œuvres ainsi produites devront offrir aux habitants, mais aussi aux visiteurs, une relecture du paysage de cette région du Mexique. Se seront des œuvres inédites explorant la relation entre nature et art contemporain et interagissant avec la communauté.



APPEL À CANDIDATURE

JUILLET - OCTOBRE 2015

LIZA TROTTEY | FLORA VACHEZ



OEUVRE: PRISME







OEUVRE: LA FLOTTE DE LA IGRIEGA
EL CIELO DEL RÍO





Locate Us On Map